FrankTALK and book signing with Julietta Henderson

Frankston City Libraries

Event Date: 
11 February 2021
Author / Presenters: 
Julietta Henderson

‘One of those gorgeous books that completely lifts your spirits and restores your faith in humanity. An utterly lovely tale.’ Ruth Jones, actress and bestselling author of Never Greener

Julietta Henderson is a brilliant new star of Australian fiction, and her debut novel The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman is bound to bring a smile to readers’ faces. This is Little Miss Sunshine meets Mamma Mia for readers who loved The Rosie Project and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

Norman and Jax are a quirky pair of pre-teen best friends with a five-year plan to take their comedy act all the way to the Edinburgh Fringe by the time they’re fifteen. When Jax dies suddenly, it’s earth-shattering.

Norman’s mum Sadie knows she won’t win Mother of the Year anytime soon, and she really doesn’t know, or care, who Norman’s father is. But her heart is broken when she discovers her grieving son’s revised plan: ‘Find Dad’ and ‘Get to the Edinburgh Fringe’. If finding his dad and performing at Edinburgh are the two things that will make Norman happy after his devastating loss, Sadie’s going to make it happen. Julietta’s Sadie is a wonderful single mum whose struggles and triumphs trying to do the best by her son will feel familiar to parents everywhere.

Norman and Sadie set off from Cornwall, with their friend Leonard in his vintage Austin Maxi, on a pilgrimage to Edinburgh. This is a mother-son road trip that inspires and delights like the best road trip novels and films -- especially at a time when Australians will be travelling in their cars more than ever within our own borders.

The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman is gorgeous, charming up-lit that makes the perfect summer salve after the doom and gloom of 2020.

#BeMoreNorman

Please join us for this FrankTALK with Julietta Henderson on Thursday 11 February at 12.30pm at Frankston Library. Robinsons Bookshop will be onsite if you’d like to purchase a copy of The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman and Julietta will be signing books on the day.

Event Details:
FrankTALK and book signing with Julietta Henderson
Thursday 11 February at 12.30pm
Frankston Library
FREE but bookings are essential